Modeling The Washing Room

Jaykon Blog » REN AND STIMPY BACKGROUNDS | Animation background ...
Yarn | Good night, Ren, ~ The Ren & Stimpy Show (1991) - S01E01 ...
Ren and Stimpy were some of my inspirations for the second room i was going to be creating! because of the crazy exaggerated angels and bright colours of the characters!
Using Mesh- Booleans- Difference i created the funny shaped hole in the washing machine!
this was the outlined shape of the machine i was aiming for and i think it turned out awesome! It looks just like the designs i was drawing!
Here was the new room shape! I still kept the bent unnatural shape but with much less polygons and more simple like in my concept art.
Using Mesh- Booleans- Difference I made the window and i also slightly altered the shape of the room creating more slightly extreme deformities in the shape of the room, but i think i will make it wider still!
Here was the simple blocked out washing machine done and the new room i had designed. The basket was modeled by Courtney and was to help me block out the scene.
Playing with the lighting in the room. and seeing how i will make there appear that there is a sky outside the window. It wouldn’t appear when i would enter render view so i will be asking my professors for some help there!
failed lighting test! Shadows were too sharp and spooky
I was playing around with how the lighting would work from the sun beaming in through the window. Really happy with how this test turned out!
I was just framing a shot from the story boards here to see how it would look! I also love how the door turned out its really funky!
added in some shelves to add some depth to the scene.
I thought the floor was looking really bare so I decided to add some power cables for the washing machine and the ironing board to work, I went with the same distorted and sharp style!
This is the final sky i was talking about above!
here I was framing up a shot from the story board, I love the darker colours in the washing machine they’re almost a warning of the darkness that awaits our main protagonist later in the film!
Something that really stood out to me when i was modeling the room was just how out of place the Ironing board was compared to the rest of the room. Orla had made a fantastic Ironing board that would have been fantastic in a different project but it was too perfect when compared to the low polly sharp room!
13221499_1005208792889171_200938699022454146_n.jpg
Art of Surf's Up
I was inspired by Surfs Up for the shape of the ironing board, I love the bent unperfect shape of the surf boards from this film so i looked at them for reference!
another lighting test and i was messing with the sky placement!
Cat City - Vewn | Art, Concept art characters, Art inspiration
You can really see my inspirations from Cat City paying off in the room!

Finally here is the final room that i handed off to the team for them to start animating in! Im so proud of my self for the work i have done in this environment. It has a unique style and it looks just like it did in my concept art pieces. This was all done because of the help of my amazing team and Professors that have been helping me throughout these difficult times!

Heres some screen shots from the animation to show how well everything turned out in the end!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started